Skip to main content

Environmental Bacterial Microbiology

Agustín Probanza Lobo (IP)

Associate Professor




+34 616113212

Other group members

Pedro Antonio Jiménez Gómez

Associate Professor

Marina Robas Mora

Assistant Professor

Research lines

  • Soil bioremediation (PGPRs and plants)
  • Antibiotic resistance of microbial communities
  • Microbiome of ecosystems

Representative publications

  • Robas M, Probanza A, Jiménez Gómez PA (2020) Metagenomic study of the taxonomic profile of rhizobacterial communities in soils contaminated with mercury. Acta Sci Microbiol 3: 1-13.
  • Robas M, Jiménez Gómez PA, Valbuena C, Probanza A (2017) Effect of the type of Vitis vinifera cultivation in the cenophenoresistome and metabolic profiling (CLPP) of edaphic bacterial communities. J Agr Sci Tech 7: 522-536.
  • Armada E, Probanza A, Roldán A, Azcón R (2016) Native plant growth promoting bacteria Bacillus thuringiensis and mixed or individual mycorrhizal species improved drought tolerance and oxidative metabolism in Lavandula dentata J Pant Physiol 192: 1-12.
  • Simón González L, Probanza A, Jiménez Gómez P (2014) Quorum sensing, quorum quenching and plants: a brief and basic review. In: Industrial, Medical and Environmental Applications of Microorganisms. Current Status and Trends, pp 170-175. (A Méndez-Vilas, ed.). Wageningen Academic Publishers.
  • García-Villaraco A, Probanza A, Gutierrez FJ, Ramos B, Lucas JA (2010) Characterization of the rhizosphere microbial community from different Arabidopsis thaliana genotypes using phospholipid fatty acids (PLFA) analysis. Plant Soil 329: 315-325.


  • Parladé X (PI), Rincón A (co-PI), Proanza A (2019-2022) Design and implementation of sustainable multiproductive systems in truffle farming and analysis of associated ecosystem services. Ministry of Science, Innovation and Universities. RTI2018-093907-B-C22.
  • Probanza A (PI) Jimenez PA, García Mateo JV, Quiñones MA, Robas Mora M (2014-2017) Study of bacterial communities in the rhizosphere of plants in soils contaminated by mercury, using phenotypic indicators (metabolic and metharesistome), their modulation by Quorum Sensing / Quorum Quenching and selection of bacterial strains for their potential biotechnological application in rhizoremediation. Fundación Universitaria San Pablo CEU. FUSP-BS-PPC01-2014.
  • Pueyo JJ (PI), Lucas MM (co-PI), Probanza A (2014-2017) Selection of varieties of lupine and alfalfa and their associated rhizobia for use in saline soils and / or contaminated by heavy metals. Ministry of Economy and Competitiveness. AGL2013-40758-R.
  • Gutiérrez-Mañero FJ (PI), Probanza A (2006-2009) Use of microorganisms for environmental impact assessment and restoration of the natural environment. Comunidad Autónoma de Madrid. S505/AMB 0321 2006-2009.


  • Gutierrez Mañero FJ, Probanza A (2000) Bacillus pumilus (B3, CECT 5105) and Bacillus licheniformis (B12, CECT 5106) stimulants of plant growth and producers of gibberellins. PCT: bacteria that produce gibberellins and stimulants of plant growth. Fundación Universitaria San Pablo CEU. Company/Institution: AMC Chemical (under exploitation).
  • Jiménez Gómez PA, Llinares Pinel F, Redondo P (2009) Pseudomonas sp. Pme707 CECT 7314 competent to promote microbial growth mediated by Quorum Sensing and plant as a producer of auxins in oil residues from food industry. Fundación Universitaria San Pablo CEU. Company/Institution: CIFOR-INIA.

Relevant methods

  • Reverse transcription polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR)
  • Pulsed-field gel electrophoresis (PFGE)
  • Next Gen Sequencing (NGS) data analysis
  • Bacterial transformation by electroporation
  • Detection and characterization of β-lactamas
  • Cenoantibiogram: Antibiogram of microbial communities
  • Evaluation of plant growth promoting capacities
  • PGPR strain characterization
  • Characterisation of antibiotic resistance mechanisms

Collaborations with other national and international research groups

  • Rosario Azcón (Estación Experimental del Zaidín, CSIC, Granada)
  • Ana Rincón y José Javier Pueyo (Instituto de Ciencias Agrarias, CSIC, Madrid)
  • Aurora Echeita Sarrionandia y Juan Antonio Saez Nieto (Centro Nacional de Microbiología, Instituto de Salud Carlos III, Madrid)
  • Rafael Rotger Anglada (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)